Self Portrait in Three Colours

Inspired

Posted on: June 5, 2010

I’m in a creative mood tonight, I think it’s got something to do with discussing work experience for my brother and talking about all the things he could do with nature, parks, ecosystems education etc. It makes me want to get out there and experience as much as I can, but because it’s 10:30pm on a Saturday night and I’ve got 3 (albeit short) exams next week I think we’ll leave that for another time. Instead I’ll channel it into writing here 🙂

I’d like to do something really awesome these holidays. Create something, start a project and keep it going. That being said I’ve already got plenty of things on my to-do list, like:
– Exercising everyday (I know it’s cliche but the nintendo wii really helps and I think I can do this)
– Getting back into hardcore practice (a lost cause while at uni… quite ironic really considering I’m doing a music course)
– Organize my music collection – keep creating playlists and sorting music according to moods, times of the day etc. Aarons been much better at me in doing that, I’m only up to the letter C in song titles, sigh.
– Organize my photo collection – make sure I’ve got all photos from all camera in my iphoto and maybe do something with them… at least move them to the desktop computer so we can see them on our screensaver
– While I’m at it, continue scanning in old family photos. Loved doing it leading up to Dad’s 50th earlier this year, but it was cutting it pretty fine coming up towards the party so I had to just go through and only scan photos of him. So I’ll go back and get all the rest of them. Love having all those photos digitized.
– READ! And read books that are new. Expose myself to something just a bit different.

The driveway in Strathewen will be getting done in a week’s time or so, and during the school holidays we’re going to camp there for probably the majority of the two weeks. I’m looking forward to being cut off from technology and the world in general for a bit. I’m going to have my clarinet and my metronome and do heaps of practice. I’m going to read. I’ll bring my little diary and write in that – just being in Strathewen boosts my creativity level – and I’m going to take tons of photos. I’ll get heaps of exercise. And hopefully living there with Aaron will cleanse my soul a little of all the technological influence of this world. Really, I can’t help it, but I feel a little addicted to this computer, and I want to break free from that so I have more time to truly be creative. I get this feeling from time to time that I just want to be so connected to the earth and to nature, to know all there is to know about our beautiful property, to do things that are good for our world and to be non-intrusive while I’m here. Living in the suburbs with a laptop, a mobile phone, electricity, fumes… it’s not the best way to do that. And it kills inspiration. I want to experience what it would have been like to live here thousands and millions of years ago, where there was no such things as cars and buildings and factories and internet and pre-packaged food. It’s always hard to live that completely but camping in Strathewen for a couple of weeks can certainly get me closer.

Well as I always say I have plenty more to write about but I’m currently being coaxed upstairs to watch 24. It’s been ages so I’m a little excited. More later! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'm Monica - a 21 year old Aussie girl trying to understand life. Teaching music and studying to be a primary school teacher. Blogging about everything and nothing!

@clarinade

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

