Self Portrait in Three Colours

New Beginnings

Posted on: February 22, 2010

Okay, so I’ve tried a few times to get a post up over the last couple of months and usually they’ve been of epic proportions and I never end up finishing them. So I thought I’d just write a quick one now because I don’t want to lose this, or the habit of writing all together!

There’s plenty happening at the moment and it’s all a little bit scary and exciting. For one, my orientation for uni is in two days and I officially start next week. I am well aware that beginning study is going to turn my whole life upside down and while it’s a little unnerving (because I’ve absolutely loved the last two years off) it’s also a little exhilarating. I can’t wait to start getting lessons, to sit in on lectures about the history of american music, to learn theory and aural training and composition. To play in a small ensemble and a large one. To be around like-minded musicians (hopefully!) and learn something from each one of them. It’s also scary because of my whole issue with socializing and not having much in common with people my age. I was secretly hoping to see some older-looking people at registration, but they all looked fresh out of high school or thereabouts. I know I can’t make judgements, and it would be nice to have a few friends my age, so I guess I’ll have to wait and see. I think there will be quite a few chances on Wednesday to get to know people.

Starting uni obviously means that I will have less time to teach, which is something I’m in a bit of battle with myself over. Every time I’m at school and I’m teaching and working on recruiting as many kids to the new Training Band as possible, it makes me sad that so much of my time will be dedicated to uni and practice, rather than working out new things to do with my kids, taking a band, etc. Although dearly wanted to, I won’t be able to conduct the Training Band this year – Aaron’s taking that on for the time being. We’ve also got Laura helping out with some woodwind teaching, she’ll probably take on most or all of the new students. Although I wish I could take them all and that fact that I can’t makes me a little cranky, I’m glad it’s Laura doing it & not some other person that I don’t really know or trust. I like Laura, and she seems like she would be a great teacher. It will be nice to work with her 🙂

The practice has been going superbly. We are back in that groove where practicing is just a very natural, easy thing to do again and I’m so glad – it could have been much harder. Our system is second to none, and that is something I’m very proud of. I’ll have to explain it better one day. I wanted to be feeling more comfortable with my improvising, scales, etc before starting uni and it’s exactly what I’ve been able to achieve.

I did only say this would be short but the words have just been flowing through my fingertips – I guess that’s better than having writer’s block! I’d like to write again soon, but I won’t promise anything (it might be another few months before I write again!), although I guess I don’t have to, cos this blog is really just for me anyway 🙂

Time to organize the practice for another week and get into it before I go for my hair cut/colour 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'm Monica - a 21 year old Aussie girl trying to understand life. Teaching music and studying to be a primary school teacher. Blogging about everything and nothing!

@clarinade

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

