Self Portrait in Three Colours

Yep, I still exist.

Posted on: November 5, 2009

Okay, so it’s been approximately 50 million years 2 weeks since I last wrote. It feels like ages, I guess a fair bit has happened since then. Nothing life-changing, but it’s just been totally busy. And when I’ve had some time to myself, I haven’t really felt like writing. I’m just so tired, all the time, and it takes so much effort to write a coherent post (not that I’m an expert at doing thatย anyway!!)

We’ve been in Strathewen a lot. The weekend before last, my family and Aaron’s all came, and we had a BBQ and did some weeding/burning off. It was wonderful to have everyone there. I truly do love spending time with Aaron’s family. Jess was even there – she surprised us!!! – and it was a really cheerful, productive day. We all had a paddle in the creek, enjoyed great food, and pulled out plenty of weeds. That night we all went out for a pub meal, and it was so great to see Aaron’s family and mine really getting along. It’s things like that that put a smile on my face.

Aaron, my brother Chris and myself went to Strathewen again the next day. We got a whole lot more wood burnt off, just stuff that was lying all over the flats and blocking our way. It felt so fantastic to be cleaning the property up, and we could really see the improvement after just that one weekend. The next weekend, we camped out there for the night, the three of us. Mum & Chelsea came up for a BBQ dinner, but for the most part, it was just us. We did a lot of relaxing! And we had a great time in the tent that night, being silly and talking about all sorts of things like religion and extraterrestrial life. Good fun ๐Ÿ™‚

Teaching has been exhausting but I’m getting a lot out of it so it kind of evens out. Denese’s kinder kids came to school today to hear our bands play. Everyone was very excited (including me, I shamelessly admit) and the Combined Band and Concert Band played pretty well. Aaron did the whole “these are the brass instruments, these are the woodwind” etc, and at the end he got a few kids to come up and conduct the band. The Concert Band did that so well. The kinder kids would poke the baton into the air and the band would respond immediately. Some of the more confident kids would wave the baton round and round and have the band playing loud and soft and long and short. It was just so, so cute. And I was so proud of our kids to be able to play like they did. After everything that’s happened this year, and all the loss of motivation to teach once getting back into it, it really inspired me to continue being the best teacher I can be. These kids continue to astound me and I really love that ๐Ÿ™‚

Well my week is officially over, which is kind of nice, but Aaron still has to work for the majority of tomorrow. That’s fine because I’ve got a few things to do still:

Write up a permission slip to hand out to the band kids re: our recording in Eltham next month. Now this, I am really excited about. I can’t wait to have a copy.

Give Misty and Children’s Song a really good practice. First band rehearsal is on Monday and my first audition is the Monday after that – eep!

Go for a good-sized walk – although my steps are going really well this week!

Put the Rego sticker on my car – it clocked over at the end of last month and I haven’t needed to drive my car since, but I’m afraid I’m going to get caught out soon, like I did on Monday!

Hopefully write another post for my blog. Most likely continuing the My Life in Words series, but I might throw some breathing/long tone exercises in too, I’ve been looking in to writing something up for the band kids on this.

So it’s a fun-filled day tomorrow for Monica! Haha ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

I'm Monica - a 21 year old Aussie girl trying to understand life. Teaching music and studying to be a primary school teacher. Blogging about everything and nothing!

@clarinade

  • "I don't want to go back to class and watch the movie. I want to stay here with you and play flute all day." My students make me happy ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŽถ๐Ÿ’• 1 year ago
  • I am finally watching Game of Thrones. And I am belatedly furious about the fate of Ned Stark. WHY. WHY WHY WHY. 1 year ago
  • I had several grade 4 girls ask me the other day, "What's a church?" What an interesting commentary on religion's place in society today. 1 year ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

